RE: Jayden Shea; Toms>Airwalk

I don’t know how I feel about this.
On one hand, it’s great that more companies are giving back to the community. On the other hand, I don’t feel comfortable that the Airwalk hope shoes look like Tom’s. Tom’s is the first company (that I know of) to start the 1 for 1 project. Of course, Tom’s does not have a monopoly on good intentions (or good shoes for that matter) but…I don’t know.

I first heard of Tom’s from Bianca Gonzales’ blog about 2 years ago. I really thought the project was admirable but I never got around to buying a pair. I mostly buy shoes from ukay (thrift stores) after all.

I really like how the Tom’s shoes look, especially the cordones. 

The Airwalk Hope Shoes are $19.99; Tom’s are at least $49.
Even with a $30 dollar difference, I’m more inclined to getting the Tom’s. There really is cost involved in designing nice shoes and in running an ethical company. What I’m saying is, if we want good companies to flourish, we should really support them. The only way Tom’s can continue to sell shoes is if it can continue designing good shoes. I’m not saying Airwalk isn’t a good company. I guess I just like the idea behind Tom’s better.

But really, if you can afford it, just give without expecting anything in return. If you can afford to give $19.99- $ 49 to help a poor family without getting a pair of shoes in return, go on ahead.

Here is the link to the World Vision-PH website, you can make a one-time donation or you can sponsor the education of a child.

Toms Classic BlackAirwalk Hope shoes

Toms Martinez Cordones

About zackbowman

livin life lovin jesus View all posts by zackbowman

Leave a comment